Does Omission contain any GMOs?
No – Omission beers are not brewed with any genetically modified ingredients. Just the best malted barley, hops, water and yeast.
How Many Calories are in Omission Beer?
Omission Lager contains 140 calories, 11 grams carbs and 2 grams protein per 12-ounce serving.
Omission Pale Ale contains 175 calories, 15 grams carbs and 2 grams protein per 12-ounce serving.
Omission IPA contains 195 calories, 15 grams carbs and 2 grams protein per 12-ounce serving.
Is Omission beer gluten free?
Since the launch of Omission, we have been committed to using the best available science to measure and monitor the gluten content of our products. This means frequent and comprehensive testing during our brewing and packaging operations so that we can thoroughly monitor and control our processes.
In 2013, Mass Spec research was conducted by an independent lab which validated that Omission Lager and Pale Ale are devoid of known barley toxic epitopes, the specific peptide sequences and reactive sites in gluten molecules that cause reactions in the human small intestine. These same beers were tested using the R5 Competitive ELISA and were found to lack any measureable gluten content. A growing body of peer reviewed scientific literature supports that our process is effective in breaking up and detoxifying gluten peptides.
Omission is very excited to share this data with our customers, the scientific community, and the US regulatory agencies. We remain committed to progress, transparency, education, and the fostering of choice for celiac and gluten intolerant persons who love the taste of great malted barley based beer that has been crafted to remove gluten, like Omission beers.
How is Omission beer tested for gluten?
Since the launch of our Omission Pale Ale and Lager, we have been committed to using the best available science to measure and monitor the gluten content of our products. This means frequent and comprehensive testing during our production and packaging operations so that we can thoroughly monitor and control our processes. Our testing protocol provides duplicative data points for every batch tested by corroborating our in house lab results against an independent laboratory. The testing method we use is the best available analytical method to quantify gluten in
fermented products. This method is the R5 Competitive ELISA and was internationally validated in 2013 by AACCI and the American Society of Brewing Chemists for testing fermented foods and beverages to determine whether they conform to the Codex* threshold of less than 20mg gluten/kg in total gluten for gluten free products. While it is not a routine protocol, Omission beers have also been tested using the A1 Competitive ELISA, the G12 Competitive, and a G12 LFD. None of these three tests were able to quantify gluten in the beers.
How is the gluten removed from Omission beer?
Omission beers are brewed just like other great craft beers, with malted barley, hops, water, and yeast. Once the beers are ready for the fermentation tanks, we add a brewing enzyme called Brewers Clarex™ which breaks apart and detoxifies the gluten protein chains. The beers are then packaged in a closed environment to eliminate any cross contamination risk.
Is Omission beer brewed with sorghum, buckwheat, rice, tapioca, or quinoa?
No - Omission beers are brewed with only barley malt, hops, water and yeast.
How long have Omission beers been brewed?
Omission beers have been brewed and packaged since 2012. However, our world-class brewing team has been brewing craft beer since 1984 and brewed their first gluten-free beer using sorghum, cassava, and honey in 2006. The Omission beers today are the result of years of research and hard work from our team.
Where is Omission beer brewed?
Omission beers are brewed at the Widmer Brothers Brewery in Portland, Oregon, and the Redhook Brewery in Portsmouth, New Hampshire by the amazing brewing team at Craft Brew Alliance.
Are Omission beers brewed at a facility that also brews traditional beers?
While Omission beers are brewed at breweries that brew traditional craft beers, we take extreme precautions in our brewing and packaging facilities to ensure that we’re providing a consistent product that meets Federal and CODEX defined gluten-free standards. Samples from every batch of Omission beer are tested internally for gluten content before packaging and packaged samples are sent to an external lab for testing before being released from the brewery. Omission beers are the first beers to be packaged after the packaging lines have been thoroughly cleaned and sanitized. In addition, during the packaging process the facility is locked down to prevent any cross contamination. This allows us to ensure that the product meets our standards for quality and meets FDA’s gluten threshold before being shipped from the brewery.
Where can I buy Omission beer?
Information about where Omission beer is available can be found at: www.findomissionbeer.com
Is Omission beer available on draught?
Currently Omission beers are not packaged in kegs. In order to ensure that the integrity of Omission beer is maintained until it is served, the beer is only available in bottles. We want to avoid any cross-contamination risks and the possibility of being accidentally served a pint of beer other than the Omission that was ordered.
Will you brew other styles?
We are constantly listening to what our consumers are telling us and what other styles of beer they’re interested in. Currently we are very pleased with the three styles we have but there’s always the possibility of future releases. We’re always developing and testing new recipes so check back soon to see what’s next from Omission.
What are the FDA gluten-free labeling regulations?
In August of 2013, the U.S. FDA released updated regulations on gluten-free labeling. The FDA maintained the widely accepted global gluten-free standard (set by the CODEX Alimentarius commission in 1978) of less than 20ppm. Unfortunately at the time of the ruling they did not rule on fermented products. They stated that they would continue to review the available scientific research and rule accordingly in due time. As a result the TTB, who governs malt beverage labels and generally follows the FDA, did not adopt any new labeling regulations. We continue to work with both organizations, and other scientific bodies, to share our research, and maintain our leadership in the detection of gluten in fermented products.